paranormal
Comment 1

Interview with Amy Allan and Steve DiSchiavi of the Dead Files

the dead files

Guest post by Abby Normal. Reprinted with permission from her blog.

On Saturday, April 25, The Dead Files returns for its 7th season.  The Dead Files is a paranormal investigation show with a twist. Steve DiSchiavi is a retired New York homicide investigator that is paired up with Amy Allan who is a physical medium. Steve DiSchiavi researches the facts and history behind the selected location and Amy Allan talks to the dead to understand the paranormal activity directly from the source.

This season the team leaves the United States for their first investigation at a tropical resort in Montego Bay, Jamaica. To find out more about season 7 we join Steve and Amy with a group of inquisitive reporters.

Steve DiSchiavi:   Hi guys. Yes, the season premiere is pretty exciting for us because we’ve never been out of the country doing an episode. This one was in Montego Bay, Jamaica which is pretty exciting because I’ve never been there.

I heard a lot of spooky stuff about Jamaica, but I didn’t realize they had such a rich history as far as uprising and slavery and everything that went with it. So it was pretty interesting to investigate all that.

Amy Allan:          Hi everyone. Yes. It was absolutely a fascinating location to do because it’s so beautiful there and yet there’s this darkness that comes from the history of all of the things that happened there and the horrors that befell so many people over such a long period of time.

And so it’s really strange to go to this beautiful island and then do the walk and see all of these horrifying things that happened. Then to go to reveal and learn that it really was just terrible. So it was very shocking; a very shocking case.

Tony Tellado:      What’s it like to investigate outside of the country, and particularly for you Steve, because usually you deal with the local authorities in the US? Is it a little different working with them in a different country?

 Steve DiSchiavi:   Yes Tony.  It was a little difficult. Logistically, it was a nightmare. But what I found interesting is how passionate everybody in that country is about their history.

They went through a lot in that country. And everybody wants to talk about it. And everybody has an opinion about what happened in that country. So it was pretty exciting.

And trying to get people to talk about it wasn’t the hard part. It was just getting the facts straight because there was a lot of rumor in that country that’s not really factual.

 Tony Tellado:      Amy, for your walkthrough, did you experience anything different, being that it was a different environment than you were used to investigate?

Amy Allan:          Yes. I definitely encountered individuals that were from time periods that were much further in the past historically than what I’m used to dealing with in America. You know, these people were ancient compared to the entities that I encounter in America most often. And so that was interesting.

And also, just seeing all the trials and tribulations that people went through. And just also the entities that were there that were non-human were very different and very fascinating.

And there’s the spiritual element that people still practice there, and that’s different than in America. They’re much more open there to dealing with these things and appreciating their existence. So that was fascinating.

Tony Tellado:      Wow. Thanks guys. It sounds like a really cool episode.

Steve DiSchiavi:   Yes. It is. It’s an interesting episode because of the fact that, where we investigated, they had a story they’ve been telling for years.

They were a little annoyed with me because they weren’t telling the right story. It was actually a fabrication of a couple of different stories that was totally untrue. So I think I annoyed them a little bit with my investigation by bringing out the truth.

Dan Rice:             Amy, could you describe the various types of spiritual entities you encounter like demons and poltergeists or something like that?

Amy Allan:          I would say that I am noticing that there are entities that we’ll say are demons or devils. They seem to be becoming more prevalent.

And I call them that because that’s something linguistically that the public can relate to, those types of names, demons and devils, equating to something that’s evil and has never been human.

And poltergeist is actually a living person and extends from a living agent. It’s someone who has psychokinetic abilities and can affect their environment. So those are a couple of the different types of entities that I encounter.

Dan Rice:             With this growing number of evil entities, do you think that the world is just becoming more evil?

Amy Allan:          I think that people are just becoming more aware of things that are influencing them. And a lot of people talk about the veil  becoming thinner and all of this. I think that is just more of a heightened awareness among living people.

Dan Rice:             Do we all exist on the same realm or is this a case of overlapping dimensions?

Amy Allan:          No. There’s definitely different dimensions. Absolutely.

Abby Normal:     Congratulations on hitting 90 episodes.

Steve DiSchiavi:   Thank you.

Abby Normal:     What I wanted to know is if you were in another country, Amy, would you be able to understand them? Do they speak English in the afterlife?

Amy Allan:          Actually, I have encountered both. I’ve come up against dead people who basically refuse to have a translation take place. So they will just speak their language and there will be a communication breakdown. But, more often than not, there is a type of translation that takes place. And I think it’s via guides who are able to play translator for us.

So yes, once in a while, you get one that is just not happening. They’re not going to – it’s not going to happen. It just depends on the situation.

Abby Normal:     Is there a real efficient way to send a shadow person on its way?

Amy Allan:          Not in my experience, no. There are many other people out there who’d say, “Oh, you can get rid of them in this and that.” But, typically, if they’re easily gotten rid of, they probably weren’t really shadow people. They were probably just dead people.

And, shadow people, you’re dealing with beings that are probably inter-dimensional, and they typically will attach themselves to a person or a location. And I’ve never seen them be easily removed without them coming back.

It’s a completely different type of entity than a dead person or, demonic. These are intelligent beings that are utilizing portals. So it’s just very different.

Abby Normal:     Do you have a take on why people get scratched by unseen entities and it will usually be three scratches?

Amy Allan:          Well there’s different interpretations there. Some people will say it’s the trinity, the sign of the trinity, and therefore it’s demonic which, I’m not saying, if it is or not. If I’m not doing the case, I don’t know.

And then there’s also the power of suggestion where you have an actual poltergeist case. Therefore, the person is doing it to themselves. They may have a religious belief system. And so they’re inflicting that upon themselves and in kind of a religious manner with the three – the trinity.

So it depends on the situation. I can’t ever say unless I’m involved in that case, what’s going on, if it’s a poltergeist or if it’s actually demonic.

Mallory Devenback: I was wondering how you decide to go to these different locations such as Falconer, New York.

Steve DiSchiavi:   Well a lot of that falls on me and the producers and what we go through when we vet. Amy really doesn’t have input in that because she can’t know where she’s going obviously.

Most of the time, the way things have been going this last three, four seasons, we seem to be getting a lot more submissions where people actually were being physically touched. And a lot of times children are being affected.

So that seems to be one of the things I like to hop on is these kids can’t protect themselves. And the parents are having a tough time trying to figure things out. So, for me, that’s a red flag that I want to really look into it first.

You know, we get a lot of submissions where people say, “I got a friendly ghost in my house. I just want to know what’s going on.” And, for us, we’re not going to waste our time doing that. Our job is to help people that’s going through a tough time.

We have thousands of submissions and most of them are just, “Well, I don’t know who’s in my house. I’m not really sure. But they don’t bother us. We just want to find out. I mean that’s all well and good but, that’s not what we do.  We’re kind of like the A-team for people that are going through a tough time.

So, when we do look at a case, it’s mostly what the intensity is. In cases that we’re doing now we would never… In cases that we did in Season 1 and 2 we would never do now because the stakes aren’t  that high for these people. It seems that the longer the show is going on, the more people are willing to open up and say, “Well listen, I’m going through this crazy stuff. We’re being physically touched. And I need your help. And at least I know you’ll listen.” So that’s been an aspect of how we’re choosing which cases to take.

Emily Mentzer:    I have a question for you guys about your experience in Independence, Oregon. What can you tell me about your experience at the farm without giving away anything for the show?

Steve DiSchiavi:   Well I could tell you one thing about Independence, Oregon that’s – the stuff these guys were telling me that was going on, I thought I was being punk’d because I never heard anything like it. And basically, I thought they were full of it. I mean the stuff was absolutely bizarre. But it all turned out to be pretty much on point which is kind of scary if you live there.

Amy Allan:          Yes. Very, very…

Steve DiSchiavi:   Great guys too. Really great guys. They’re really good people.

Michael Freeman: Are there certain parts of the country that are more kind of hotbeds for activity or is it just kind of based on history or is it just kind of all over?

Amy Allan:          Absolutely.  Honestly, the worst states for paranormal activity right now are Kansas, Arizona and Michigan. I think those are my top three.

Steve DiSchiavi:   Yes. Pennsylvania seems to be another hotbed.

Amy Allan:          Also New Mexico is pretty insane. And I’m just talking as far as actually seeing the dead like wandering the streets, those are the top places I’m referring to are like consistent onslaught of dead and entities that are just everywhere all the time. So I mean that’s kind of what I’m referring to.

Abby Normal:     Fans have asked Amy if you are teaching any classes.

Amy Allan:          I will be – well my Web site will be up very soon. I promise. I promise. I promise. It will be up within the next two months. I swear, I swear, I know I’ve said that a million times before.

And the workshops are actually due to start in 2016. And all the information will be on the Web site, as well as the signup forms and all of that. So I can’t wait.            I can’t wait to meet so many people and hopefully help people understand their gifts and get back into being – helping and guiding people. So I’m very excited.

Abby Normal:     On your Facebook page, you’re Amy APR Allan. What does the APR stand for?

Amy Allan:          Athenodorus Paranormal Research.

Abby Normal:     What is that?

Amy Allan:          Athenodorus was actually one of the first paranormal investigators in Greece to actually document and do a scientific research into the paranormal.

Abby Normal:     They’re an inspiration for you?

Amy Allan:          Yes. Yes, he was. Yes, definitely.

Tony Tellado:      Amy, is there like a process that you go through after a walk to the kind of like, you know, a detox and kind of get that out of your system a little bit?

Amy Allan:          Yes. And I’m being extremely vigilant this season; extremely. So now, what I do is I do my closing meditation. I have some kind of shaman, medicine woman, or reiki master come in and actually do a cleansing and a balancing and a detachment for me.

And I eat a lot. And I sleep a lot. And I’m trying to go out into nature so that I can really ground out. So yes. I’m still taking bathes and doing, my salt bathes, and burning my candles and sage, and crystals. I’m doing it all. So yes. And it seems to be working much better.

Debe Branning:   What do you do to prepare your mind and your body? Do you do any kind of cleansing before you go into a location?

Amy Allan:  I do now – I do a reiki protection. That’s new that I’ve added. And I do carry stones, several different types, depending on what my guides tell me to take that night. I do try to eat well that day. And I do about an hour’s worth of meditation work.

Steve Barton:       I was wondering if you could describe what the process is to vet these cases that are brought to you.

Steve DiSchiavi:   My biggest thing is I don’t want somebody that’s a B-list actor that’s trying to get back on TV, obviously.  I don’t want somebody that’s been arrested for fraud or, somebody that’s used to duping the public.

But, it’s hard to interview somebody on the phone and get a feel for them. So I’ve been doing a lot of these video conferences where I can get to see them. It helps me tremendously.

We just try to get the regular, everyday person that couldn’t be afforded the help that we can give them. People of means can get help any way they want. People that we go to, really, have nobody to turn to. They don’t know what to do. So when I do the vetting, that will come across when you see the desperation in these people.

Abby Normal:     Amy, do you have spirit guides who stay for only a while? And what does it feel like working with a new guide?

Amy Allan:          Oh no. I work with the same guides. I’m probably too much of a paranoid person to be cool with new guides showing up.  I’ve worked with different dead people, good dead people who might show up and say, want to guide me through a walk.

Just on a recent case, I had an entity that stayed with me the entire time. And I’m cool with that. I take it with a grain of salt because I don’t know them and I haven’t worked with them before, and I don’t know if I can believe them or not. But as far as my guides are concerned, no they’re consistent.

Abby Normal:     That’s a good point. The other question was when different types of entities show up, do you get a different taste in your mouth or other physical reaction. And if so, does this help determine what the entity is?

Amy Allan:          I’m very fortunate that I don’t smell things. I know a lot of people will have that sense that they get sulfur and things like that. That’s very rare for me. No, I just see them. I feel them, as far as like if they’re sick or, if they got shot, things like that. Smells, no, not so much.

Abby Normal:     Thank you very much. And Steve, thank you for your service.

Steve DiSchiavi:   Thanks Abby. I appreciate that.

Stephanie DePietro:  Thank you everybody. Thanks Amy and Steve. Thanks for joining us today. Once again, the new season of The Dead Files, Season 7, premieres next Saturday, April 25, at 10:00 pm Eastern and Pacific on Travel Channel.

The above interview has been edited from its original version. A more complete edition is available on my website at: http://theabbynormal.wordpress.com/                            

SEASON PREMIERE: “Guardians of the Dead – Montego Bay, Jamaica” – Saturday, April 25 at 10:00 p.m. ET/PT

Steve DiSchiavi and Amy Allan travel to Montego Bay, Jamaica, in their first international investigation to explore a deadly legend and frightening claims of paranormal activity at a tropical resort.

Deranged – Falconer, New York” – Saturday, May 2 at 10:00 p.m. ET/PT

Steve DiSchiavi and Amy Allan travel to Falconer, N.Y. to investigate reports of violent paranormal activity at a frightened family’s home where several previous residents have died. DiSchiavi discovers that a former resident struggled with insanity, as the home remained plagued by decades of heartbreak and death, while Allan encounters multiple spirits capable of inflicting severe pain on the living.

House of Mirrors – Independence, OR” – Saturday, May 9 at 10:00 p.m. ET/PT

When a desperate couple fears for their grandson’s safety, Steve DiSchiavi and Amy Allan travel to Independence, Ore. to investigate reports of horrifying paranormal activity.  As DiSchiavi discovers the disturbing history of the home and the property, including the original owner’s possible suicide and a violent feud between neighbors, Allan faces off against dangerously mischievous entities capable of ruining the lives of the living.

The Instigator – Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania” – Saturday, May 16 at 10:00 p.m. ET/PT

Steve DiSchiavi and Amy Allan investigate a Pittsburgh home where a terrified family is being tormented by a dangerous entity. DiSchiavi uncovers evidence that the former property owner suffered a life of tragedy, including the death of multiple family members, while Allan confronts several clashing spirits including a tormenting entity she refers to as “The Instigator.”

The Obsession – Oregon, IL” – Saturday, May 30 at 10:00 p.m. ET/PT

Steve DiSchiavi and Amy Allan investigate disturbing claims that victims of a gruesome murder haunt an Oregon, Ill. restaurant.  While DiSchiavi discovers evidence of a double homicide involving a love triangle, Allan confronts several entities, including devious shadow figures that attempt to throw her off their trail by deliberately confusing her.

1 Comment

  1. Marge Rosenkrans says

    I am so glad there are people like you to help other’s with finding solutions for many families.
    Many blessings to you and your staff.

Leave a Reply

