guest post, Writing
Comment 1

Music in Writing

Guest post by Jacqueline Paige, author of Cafe Serenity

I had to smile when I saw the name of the blog I was a guest at today was ParaYour Normal … considering the tagline for Café Serenity is “Where Paranormal meets Normal and serenity is the last thing you’ll find.”

Share this on Facebook>>>

I don’t know how other writers work but when I’m deep in a story I use music to help me focus and connect with the story and characters.

Café Serenity’s characters had quite a different song list than I usually listen to.  The songs are usually background for me to give me certain emotions and feelings, in Serenity’s case the music was feared for the characters more than my emotions. I was also able to put the characters favorite song in the story – it helps the quiet café by day is a bar by night. J

Pascal’s favorite song is House Rules by Christian Kane – probably not your typical vampire song. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Z1NPihh6oA

Attis’ is Give Me a Reason by Three Days Grace … a little more vampire for sure.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_tWBt_j2ayM

The females in the story preferred something a little heavier than my vamps did; Ladies Come First by Hinder was their song. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VXSPy9BunX8

I could go on for pages about music and how it helps with my writing or my mood in general, but I prefer people to stay awake when they read anything I’ve written.

I may have to write more stories in bars or clubs so I can incorporate my work music into the plot a little more often.  My beta readers said it gave them a feel for the character to know their music preference –  for me it just helps take me where my characters are trying to lead.

Thanks for having me here today.  J

Cafe Serenity

Jacqueline Paige

Release date February 15

Publisher: Class Act Books

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Book Description:

When Paranormal meets Normal, the last thing you’ll find is Serenity.

Something in Riverside is attacking those connected to Café Serenity, one of the local hangouts.  The not-quite human owner and her misfit band of anything but human friends and employees band together with the police to solve the mystery.

Simple task: just work with or around the Paranormal council of Elders, discover unknown soul mates, protect each other, and do it all without arising the suspicion or notice of the normal in town.

Just another day at Café Serenity.

paranormal

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

