guest post, paranormal
Comments 2

Lesser Known Creatures of the Paranormal

paranormal

Guest post by Marcia Colette, author of The Light at the End of Judgment and Day.

A huge thanks to Kirsten for having me here today! This is a really cool place to hangout.

There’s so much urban fantasy out there that I have to admit I’ve pretty much stopped reading it. I just wasn’t finding what I was looking for. Based on the title of my blog, you probably have a good idea of what I was looking for. I’m on the hunt for something very specific.

One reason why I’m a fan of Faith Hunter is because I love her Jane Yellowrock series. A skinwalker as the protagonist? Too cool. For a while, it was hard to find books with male protagonists, until I came across the Harry Dresden novels by Jim Butcher. My latest discovery is the Monster Hunter series by Larry Correia. L.A. Banks gave us the fabulous Vampire Huntress series that I had grown to know and love and hated to see end. Now granted there were a bunch of a vampire-hunter-type books on the market, but I especially loved Ms. Banks because she featured an African American protagonist. She shattered a boundary that was a hard one to break, believe it or not. My all-time favorite goes to Anita Blake, pre-Obsidian Butterfly. There just aren’t a lot of necromancers out there these days.

So when it got a point where I was running out of original characters and my favorites couldn’t put them out fast enough for me to devour in one sitting, I started writing my own. My first attempt was with a half-werewolf protagonist named Alexa York. There were a lot of dhampirs on the shelves, but nobody took it to the half-werewolf side of the court. I wanted one and couldn’t find one, so I created my own. Stripped was the first book in the series and Stricken will be the second with a TBD release date.

My latest release The Light at the End of Judgment and Day features my angel heroine, Yvette Mills. Before you ask, she’s not a fallen angel by any stretch of the imagination. She was sent here on purpose. She didn’t do anything wrong either. Her “job”–other than her day job–is to send things like ghosts and wraiths into Judgment and it’s not always an easy task.

I have doppelgangers, an arachnid-shifter, and my most recent favorite, a hollow who has the ability to make herself invisible. I have a Frankenstein-like character, gargoyles, and hags, and many more. What can I say? I like my characters new and different, even if they walk more on the creepier side.

At the same time, it’s hard to walk a balance between creatures that are believable versus B-movie ridiculousness. I don’t know if I’ve achieved that with my stories, but I’ve read a bunch of books that haven’t and they usually end up on my DNF pile.

I would love to add to my eclectic collection, so what are some fabulous books you’ve discovered where the main character is a “lesser known” creature? Creatures completely fabricated or with their own mythology are a special bonus. 😉

The Light at the End of Judgment and Day

The light at the end of Judgment and DayViolinist and angel, Yvette Mills has spent almost 200 years living among humans while rounding up ghosts to send into Judgment. Back on the mend from her last confrontation with a malevolent entity, she’s ready to reenter the classical-music scene. One problem. She’s not facing one ghost. She’s facing hundreds with a few demonic entities sprinkled in.

Dozens of tenants have left the Folsom Building in downtown Charlotte because of the strange goings on. When Yvette’s agent goes for the bargain-basement rental prices and now has an office there, her mission is clear. Rid the building of the paranormal vermin to keep him and the few tenants left, safe. It won’t be easy when a psychic, who’s leading a team of paranormal investigators, discovers she can see ghosts, too.

With a job this big, Yvette will need all the help she can get. But if they discover her angelic identify, hell will become her new home.

Available on Amazon

About the Author

Marcia ColetteBestselling author Marcia Colette didn’t discover her love for reading until her late teens when she started reading John Saul and progressed to works by Bentley Little, Stephen King and Laurell K. Hamilton. Her reading tastes convinced her to write paranormals where curses cause people to shift into spiders, psychotic and telekinetic mothers are locked away in attics, and murderous doppelgangers are on a rampage. Let’s not forget about the hunky werecheetah coalitions who live throughout North Carolina. As long as she can make it believable, that’s all that matters.

Born and raised in upstate New York, Marcia now lives in North Carolina with her mom and beautiful daughter. They’re not raising zombies in the backyard. There aren’t any hellhounds living in the den, only a rabbit and a cockatiel. So where she gets her ideas is as much a mystery to her as anyone else.

The best place to find her–when she’s not stirring up trouble–is on her blog where she loves connecting with readers.

Feel free to connect with me:

www.marciacolette.com

http://marciacolette.wordpress.com

https://www.facebook.com/marciacolette

https://twitter.com/MarciaColette

2 Comments

  1. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your website on my
    iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.

    I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, good blog!

Leave a Reply

