paranormal
Comments 4

5 Kick-Ass Halloween Reads

Halloween

HalloweenHalloween is on its way, and with it… Halloween-themed books! Especially when it comes to mystery and suspense, it seems Halloween is a favorite setting. And why not? The scent of pumpkin and nutmeg, flickering jack-o-lanterns, and the ever popular, witch-who-flew-into-a-tree decoration add a certain something to a work of fiction. Here are my top 5 Halloween paranormal reads.

1) Hallowed Bones, by Carolyn Haines. With the help of her family ghost, Jitty, Southern Delta PI, Sarah Booth Delaney, investigates a faith-healer accused of murdering her infant daughter.

2) Fool Moon, Grave Peril, Dead Beat, and Cold Days from the Dresden Files. Okay, I’m cheating here by giving you four books in the series, but what can I say? Harry’s awesome. Chicago wizard, Harry Dresden, was born on Halloween. Unsurprisingly, things tend to get intense in the paranormal world around that date (contra: Buffy Summers).

buffy halloween

Halloween. Cemetery. What could go wrong? In the Buffy universe, nothing. Until it does.

 

3) The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, by Washington Irving. This story is to Halloween what A Christmas Carol is to Christmas.

4) Be Careful What You Witch For, by Dawn Eastman. I totally want to go to the Harvest Festival. And the action starts with a bang: a Wiccan ceremony, a vision, and a murder, all in the first three pages in this cozy mystery.

5) Anything by Edgar Allan Poe. Okay, none of his stories actually take place on Halloween. But they’ve become Halloween read-aloud classics, and the rhythm of his poetry is surprisingly delightful. The Raven. Need I say more? In case I do, click the video below for a piece of the Simpson’s version.

What great Halloween paranormals did I miss? Tell me in the comments below.

About the Author

Kirsten Weiss is the author of Steam and Sensibility, a steampunk novel of suspense, and the Riga Hayworth series of paranormal mysteries: the urban fantasy, The Metaphysical DetectiveThe Alchemical DetectiveThe Shamanic DetectiveThe Infernal Detective and The Elemental Detective. Get her books on Amazon, Kobo, or Barnes & Noble. She’s currently working on book 6 in the Riga Hayworth series, The Hoodoo Detective.

4 Comments

  1. Have you read Night Film? That’s a good creepy one I’m reading now. I love book recommendations. I need a week off to read more of the books I want to read. Oh, who am I kidding? I need a YEAR off to read HALF the books on my list. LOL

    • I haven’t read it, Jess, but the Amazon description sounds awesome! With the mixed media – is it better as an ebook or paperback?

      • Good question! I have the book, but actually borrowed the audio book from the library, which is great. I don’t know what the e-copy looks like, but the images in the book are well done and some spooky. I think it’s the cool the author built in digital finds along in the book. So if you’re reading and have your phone you can snap an image for more exclusive content. I haven’t tried it yet, but that’s so exciting for an author to produce that and interact with their readers that way. Let me know which route you go!

Leave a Reply

