Author interview, paranormal, Writing
Comments 4

Candy Korman Nominated ParaYourNormal for a Sunshine Award!

blogging award

blogging awardFellow blogger and paranormal author Candy Korman has nominated ParaYourNormal for The Sunshine Blogger Award. I’d like to thank her for this award, because yes, recognition does make me feel good. (I know, I should be above pats on the back, but what the heck.).

I met Candy online a couple years ago, and not only has she been a tremendously supportive online cheerleader, but she also writes innovative spooky fiction based on classic tales of horror, such as Bram Stoker’s Summer Sublet. She also posts the occasional short story on her highly entertaining blog, Candy’s Monsters. If you enjoy this blog, you’ll probably like hers.

The Sunshine Award is an award given by bloggers to other bloggers. The recipients are “Bloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.”

The way the award works is this… Recipients thank the person who gave you the award and link back to them. Answer questions about yourself. Select 10 of your favorite bloggers, link their blogs to your post and let them know they have been awarded the Sunshine Award!

Now, on to the questions…

1. What is your passion?

Writing. Passion is the only way I stay motivated enough to do it! Seriously, you have to love writing or don’t even bother.

2. Favorite time of the year?

Autumn. I love Halloween, the changing weather, and all the yummy pumpkin-flavored foods on offer. Is the Twining’s Pumpkin Spice Chai available yet?

3. Favorite book?

Oooh, this one’s too tough to choose. The Nancy Drew novels that informed my childhood? An Agatha Christie? I read Lord of the Rings too many times to keep track of. Harry Potter? Harry Dresden? It’s like asking a parent to choose her favorite child.

But if I was stuck on a desert island, I’d probably pick the unabridged Sherlock Holmes.

the uninvited4. Favorite movie?

Again, a toughie. There are so many great classics – Gone With the Wind, Lawrence of Arabia… But if I had to pick my favorite paranormal movie, I’d say the 1944 film, The Uninvited, with Ray Milland. It was the first movie where Hollywood treated the subject of ghosts seriously, and it’s guaranteed to send chills up your spine. If you can find a copy. (And if you can find a copy, please tell me where).

5. Favorite animal?

Elephants! I saw them for the first time in the wild on a trip to Tanzania, and was blown away. The way they communicate with each other over long distances is fascinating, and though they have a reputation for being slow, they can move devastatingly quickly.

6. Favorite time of the day?

Anytime that isn’t the morning.

7. Favorite Flower

Lavender.

8. Favorite nonalcoholic beverage?

Iced tea. I drink tons of the stuff.

9. Favorite physical activity?

My hapkido class. I’m not that great at it and actually hate the exercise, but the instructor is inspiring.

10. Favorite vacation?

Last October I went to Iceland with my sister, and I still can hardly believe I visited a place that beautiful.

Thanks again, Candy! Please go check out her blog (I’m envious of the graphics alone).

And now, here are my nominees:

The Book Cover Machine. This blog is 99.9% visual — book covers created by The Book Cover Machine. I bought the cover for Steam and Sensibility and the sequel, Mice and Mechanicals, from here and not only are the covers hot, but they’re super reasonably priced. If you’re an Indie author, I highly recommend them.

Monsters and Magic. A blog on all things paranormal, this blog provides writerly inspiration and just cool and freaky articles on magic and the paranormal.

Bad Witches. Is it a blog or a magazine? I’m not sure, but it’s awesome. Unfortunately, I stumbled across this blog just as its owner went on a 90-day Internet hiatus. Let’s hope she comes back soon, because the articles on modern-day witchcraft (not wiccanism – witchcraft) are awesome.

Cover Reveals. This blog has been so supportive of my writing and others that I have to give them a shout out. If you ask, they will tweet the heck out of your books.

Jess Witkin’s Happiness Project. I’m not sure how this got started, but the blog is an ode to daily happiness. Who doesn’t want more of that?

Kassandra Lamb at Misterio Press. The Misterio Press blog features posts by all the Misterio Press authors. But Kass does the heavy lifting, and her posts on psychology are intriguing for readers and writers alike.

KB Owen. Another Misterio Press author, KB writes historical mysteries. Not only can she write, but she also takes her historical research seriously. Her heroine, Concordia Wells is spunky but within the bounds of realism for a lady professor in a 19th century women’s college. Intrigued? Read her books!

Diana Orgain’s Motherhood is Murder series is a sort of cozy/noir, and she’s got an upcoming straight cozy coming out about a reality TV show gone wrong – For Love or Money. I can’t wait to read it! Diana’s been something of a mentor to my writing career. Love her, and her books!

Writer and blogger Shannon Esposito has a terrific paranormal cozy series about a pet psychic in sunny Florida.

Steampunk author Dover Whitecliff is one of those hugely supportive people online and off that I feel privileged to know. She switched blog platforms and her blog seems to have gotten lost in the shuffle, but she wins for spreading the sunshine. You can find excerpts from her books and other cool steampunky stuff on her website.

 

4 Comments

  1. Loved finding out a bit more about you, Kirsten! I have already done the Sunshine Award, a couple years ago, but you’re so sweet to nominate me.

  2. Arghh, late to the party again. Kirsten, thanks so much for nominating me! You’re going to see that many of our answers are similar, particularly the beverage and the reading material. Will definitely have to check out the other nominees on your list – these look intriguing. Cheers, Kathy

  3. Pingback: wiki links

Leave a Reply

