Author interview, giveaway, paranormal romance
Comment 1

Ink, Black Moon: Hot New Paranormal Romance (and a Giveaway)

paranormal romance

paranormal romanceAt the end of the post is a chance for you to enter to win a $20 Amazon gift card and copy of Black Moon. But first, we interview Holly Hood, author of the paranormal romance series, Ink. Her third book, Black Moon, is available on Amazon today!

Slade saved her life…
but none of that matters anymore…

Torn between her love for Slade and her own existence, Hope has to fight to keep one while battling to save the other. They say it all falls apart in the end. Walking away isn’t always easy.

Hope believed in Slade…

But sometimes belief has a horrible way of destroying your life.
Can their love survive or will it all just fall apart?

PYN: So tell us a bit about yourself!

Holly: A mom and a wife with an awesome day job—I write books. I apologize in advance for the sarcasm or moments of lunacy and rants. I am 30 years old I was born in 1983 and grew up in Toledo, Ohio. I live with my husband and four children in Sylvania, Ohio, where I write, swim, and hang with my super cool kids and amazing husband. I have two dogs Calvin and Measha.

I enjoy reality television, music and baking. I love to laugh. My family means the world to me.

I believe everything happens for a reason, I am super quiet most days and I have an infatuation with blu rays.

Tell us about your latest book!

Black Moon is the third book in the Ink series. I don’t want to give away too much, because I am sure there are some out there that have yet to read the first two. I will say that the third books opens the readers eyes to more paranormal and some very interesting characters that I believe a lot of readers will be happy to hear about.

I know that there were a lot of emotions brought out in the second for the readers and I think this book will help soothe the anger and tears some might have had.

Let me warn all future and current readers, when I write books I refuse to let my characters make it through a story without being emotionally beaten, I will not pat their heads and send them to the end without a good mind manipulation of the most horrific kind. Rainbows and butterflies don’t exist in my worlds unless they are poisonous and have evil leprechaun’s waiting on the other side to beat them to a bloody pulp.

But what about happy endings you ask? Well, happy endings are in the eye of the beholder.

What genre does your book fall into – paranormal mystery, paranormal erotica, para-romance, urban fantasy, YA?

I will let the readers be the judge. I think Ink has one foot firmly planted in paranormal erotica and one in para-romance. Ink is dirty, vulgar and has its share of steamy sex scenes. Here are a few questions you might want to ask yourself before reading Ink.

  • Do you have the mouth of a sailor and adore trash talking rock stars? Then congrats this might be the series for you.
  • Do you enjoy your characters more when they act imperfect and a bit trashy at times? Well, Ink may be right up your alley.
  • Do you have a sick sense of humor? Well my dear, you have come to the right place.

Do you plot ahead of time, or let the plot emerge as you write?

I never plotted until recently. I used to fly by the seat of my pants. And most times it worked and was perfect for me. But now that I learned paranormal bookssome good plotting techniques I will not be doing this anymore. And I am happy about this.

I’m happy because when you plot you don’t run out of steam, when you’re being free and doing whatever comes to mind you tend to slow down and not know where to go next.

How did you develop the names for your characters?

When I started writing Ink the name Hope came easy. But I sat for hours looking through all sorts of websites for a good bad boy name that people would be talking about after reading my story. And that’s where Slade came from. Slade sounds dirty and broody. It’s the kind of name I can see a bad ass guy with tattoos and a lip piercing having. It fits him.

I get asked a lot about the names Oz and Kidd. Well, I always go for interesting names for my characters or names that I like. Hardly ever will you find a simple name in my book, and if you do that might mean that character might die one day. *evil grin*

Sex scenes?

Ink was the first book I decided to get more detailed with the sex in my stories. And now writing sex scenes is so much fun and I love it. It’s a challenge to outdo the last one, and sometimes it proves hard, but I don’t think I will ever go back to YA types books. Sex is fun!

How did you decide on the setting?

I really don’t know. I don’t try and pick a place that is real when I write. I simply make up a make believe town, city whatever. Sometimes I don’t even say what state the characters are in. I just thought that the name Cherry was cute and cookie cutter and I wanted a quaint sounding town for my character Hope to move to.

Why did you decide to write paranormal?

I like the freedom that writing paranormal brings. I feel that you can go outside of the box when you do something paranormal. Everything doesn’t have to be so plain and simple. You have the ability to create interesting qualities for you characters that writing a simple romance you cannot. So when I want to be a rebel and let my hair down I write paranormal.

What’s your writing schedule? Do you have a favorite place to write?

I don’t have a writing schedule. The times I should be writing I am busy with other things in life. I have four kids, including a six month old. So finding time to write is very rare anymore. But I do what I can, sometimes that means typing with one finger while holding a baby.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

