Author interview, paranormal mystery
Comment 1

Author Interview: Catie Rhodes

paranormal mystery

We welcome Catie Rhodes, author of the paranormal mystery, Forever Road. It will be 99¢ for the Kindle until July 6th – so be sure snap up this paranormal mysterygreat deal!

Here’s the back cover blurb from Forever Road:

Seeing ghosts is rough, but owing a ghost a favor flat out sucks.

My name’s Peri Jean Mace, and I’ve seen ghosts ever since I can remember. Don’t get too excited. Seeing across the veil branded me as a loony during my growing up years, and I learned to keep my yap shut about it.

Now I’m not sure I can anymore.

See, my cousin up and got herself killed the very same day I promised her a favor.  Now she’s back in spirit form and determined to make me pay. If I don’t solve her murder, she’s going to haunt me forever. Talk about the debt collector from hell.

That’s not my only problem. An obnoxiously hot cop wants to arrest my best friend for the murder.  My bigmouthed archenemy holds a clue to the killer’s identity. And there’s this mean—and ugly—woman who wants to beat me up.

None of this can turn out good.

Buy Now At Amazon.com

Now, onward to the interview!

PYR: Why did you decide to write a paranormal?

Catie: I am fascinated by the supernatural. When paranormal became a common element in genre fiction, I was in hog heaven. And, when I decided to start writing again, I couldn’t think of anything I’d rather write.

PYR: What prompted you to write this book or series?

Catie: I was having trouble finding the kind of book I wanted to read. Most paranormal-themed books take a kitchen sink approach. You have vampires, shapeshifters of all kinds, witches, trolls, faeries—you name it, all thrown together in the same series. While I loved those books for a while, they got old. I wanted to read something that felt almost within the realm of possibility.

I found close to what I was looking for in Charlaine Harris’s Harper Connelly Mysteries, in Yasmine Galenorn’s Chintz ‘n China Mysteries, and in Madelyn Alt’s Bewitching Mysteries. I wanted to do something like what those fabulous authors were doing…only darker and set in Texas.

PYR: Sex scenes?

Catie: FOREVER ROAD does have one sex scene. It’s not graphic, nor is it extremely prolonged. Personally, I find myself skimming over sex scenes and rolling my eyes at the really outlandish ones. One thing I’ve learned about writing is that it’s hard to write something I don’t enjoy reading. So I have to go “lite” on the sex scenes.

The other reason is that, while the Peri Jean Mace Mysteries will have romantic elements, romance is not the story’s focus. I am more interested in exploring how Peri carves out her place in the world around her.

PYR: How did you decide on the setting?

Catie: I was born and grew up in rural East Texas. I’ve not lived there for about a decade now. When I write, however, I always go home. I love that hidden little corner of Texas, even though I don’t foresee a set of circumstances in which I’d move back.

PYR: What’s the first paranormal you read?

Catie: The first paranormal I read that made me say, “hey, I wanna read more books like this” was SUNGLASSES AFTER DARK by Nancy A. Collins. I read it in 1989 and never forgot how cool it was. Now is a great time to check this book out because Nancy has recently published most of her backlist on ebook.

PYR: What’s next?

Catie: I’ve got a Peri Jean Mace Novella coming out around summer’s end. I’m also doing a Peri Jean Mace Short for ALLEGORIES OF THE TAROT anthology.

PYR: Anything else you’d like to add?

Catie: Yes. FOREVER ROAD will be on sale for 99¢ from June 26th through July 6th. If you’ve been waiting for a good time to see if you like reading about Peri Jean and her friends, this is a great time to do it for about 1/3 the cost of a Starbuck’s Grande Latte.

About the Author

Catie Rhodes decided to turn her love of lying into writing fiction after she got fired for telling her boss the President was on the phone. It didn’t paranormal mysterytake Catie long to figure out what she wanted to do when she grew up. Drawing on her East Texas roots, her love of true crime, and her love of the paranormal, she writes the kind of stories she wishes the book stores sold. With her faithful Pomeranian, Cosmo, at her side, Catie relishes being that kid your mother warned you about, the one who cusses and never washes her hands after petting the dog.

Find Catie Online:

Website

Blog

Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Goodreads

Amazon Author Page

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

