Author interview, paranormal
Comment 1

Author Interview with Charlotte Kane

PYN welcomes Charlotte Kane, author of I Do, available now on the Kindle.

Why did you decide to write a paranormal?I Do

I have always liked to read books that fall under this category and have had some ideas for paranormal stories but I have never taken the step in writing them because I have gotten worried that they will not stand against others within the market and that I might make a mistake and miss something from my research. But I have not given up on the ideas now; I am just not sure if I will ever go through with them.

What prompted you to write this book or series?

This book was an idea that came from a colleague. She told me she was getting married on Halloween in a castle and I got the idea of the bride being possessed by a previous bride to be and the idea just continued on from there.

Do you consider your book character-driven or plot-driven?

I would like to think character. Although plot is important; it is great to see how a character can change over the course of the book. At the start the ghost was calm and collected but as she got ignored she became angry and vengeful but soon saw the error of her ways and became apologetic. It was fun writing the angry ghost but was also nice to write her changing and coming to terms with what had happened to her.

Do you plot ahead of time, or let the plot emerge as you write?

I usually make a quick sketch of how I would like the story to go and I often make quick chapter ideas but they change as time goes on. Some of the chapters in this book I completely changed and I even cut one out that just didn’t fit.

What’s your writing schedule? Do you have a favorite place to write?

I don’t have one. I write when I want. I can go many weeks without writing and then have a blitz and write loads at once. It just depends. I write mainly in my bedroom although I have been known to write on my phone whilst I am using the cross trainer – I would not suggest this!

Anything else you’d like to add?

Don’t give up. This is the biggest piece of advice I would say. I have had many moments lately when I have had major doubts about writing and wanted to give up and people I do not know have encouraged me to continue and not let the negative reviews get to you. It is hard yes and bad reviews make you feel awful, but you have had the guts to publicise your work and you have to accept that not everyone will appreciate your work. So stick at what you love.

About the Author:

Charlotte L R Kane resides in Wales and was born in July 1988. She has a degree in Business Management and started writing in 2006 although it was only in 2012 that she thought about publishing some of her work. She writes a variety of topics but prefers to write short stories as she likes quick reads, especially for those who have little time to read due to other commitments. She enjoys a wide range of authors including Lissa Price, Jennifer Bosworth, J.K Rowling, Maggie Stiefvater, Rachel Caine, Kathy Reichs, S.J Wardell, L.J Smith, Suzanne Collins and Stephanie Meyer, and enjoys many genres but prefers young adult and crime/thriller. Her favourite books/collections include Starters, Struck, Wonder, Hunger Games, Harry Potter, Morganville Series, Shiver Series. When Charlotte isn’t reading, writing or working she likes chilling in front of the television and watching shows such as  Bones, Charmed, Chuck, Criminal Minds, Grey’s Anatomy, Jonathan Creek, Red Dwarf, Glee, Buffy, Big Bang Theory, Sex and The City and Niptuck.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

